he 19th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Association of Multimodal Transport Operators of India (AMTOI) was held on September 5, 2018 at the Royal Bombay Yacht Club, Colaba, Mumbai. The event, which comprised multiple sessions, saw a record crowd of over 100 members and guests. The outgoing President, Mr Nailesh Gandhi, gave a very detailed narrative about the achievements of AMTOI during his tenure and thanked the Managing Committee for its unstinted support. Mr Ravi Gandhi, Honorary Treasurer, then presented the audited balance sheet, audited report, and profit and loss account for 2017- 18. Mr R. K. Rubin, the outgoing Vice-President, gave the vote of thanks.

During the AGM, citations were presented to AMTOI members who had completed 25 years of service to the maritime trade. The following five members were felicitated:

* Allcargo Logistics Ltd, Mumbai

* La Freightlift Pvt. Ltd, Chennai

* Star Freight Pvt. Ltd, Mumbai

* Freight Systems India Pvt. Ltd, Mumbai

* Safe Clearing & Forwarding Pvt. Ltd, Mumbai

After a short tea break post the AGM, Mr Xerrxes Master, Honorary Secretary, introduced the speakers for the next session. Mr Rahul Agarwal and Ms Prerna Soni, AVPs from INVEST INDIA, National Investment Promotion and Facilitation Agency, New Delhi, enthralled the audience with their insightful and lucid talk about the winds of change sweeping the country in terms of ease of doing business, steady development in government’s push for Make in India and making it a reality with a positive change in attitude of bureaucrats in the corridors of power at the Centre.

The next session was on INSTC (International North South Transport Corridor), conducted by Mr Xerrxes Master who briefed the audience about INSTC and introduced the speakers for the evening—Mr T. Venkataraman, MD of Goodrich Maritime and Mr Sohel Kazani, CEO of Interport Impex Pvt. Ltd, who have extensive knowledge in this sector. Both Mr Venkataraman and Mr Kazani made crisp presentations and briefed the audience about the opportunities available for logistics players from India in INSTC and urged them to grab it before it is too late. With India having invested heavily in developing Chabahar port in Iran, doors are open to Indian business to play a key role in availing the opportunities in the hinterlands of Afghanistan and CIS countries, it was pointed out.

The presentation was followed by a panel discussion with participation from Mr Venkataraman, Mr Sohel Kazani and Mr Shankar Shinde, MD of Global Express Multilogistics Pvt. Ltd, moderated by Mr Xerrxes Master.

Later, a small video clip was played for the benefit of the audience, which had a message by Mr Suresh Prabhu, Union Minister for Commerce and Industry, complimenting AMTOI for its initiatives and service to the logistics industry.

The highlight of the evening was the arrival of Mr Ravindra Chavan, Maharashtra State Minister for Ports, Information and Technology, Medical Supplies and Civil Supplies, who kindly consented to attend the seminar and address the audience. Mr Shantanu Bhadkamkar welcomed the Minister, who thanked the audience and assured them that the government of Maharashtra shall address the concerns of the trade to the best extent possible.

The Minister was duly felicitated by AMTOI for gracing the occasion.

Subsequently, Mr Nailesh Gandhi introduced eKYC and explained the objective behind the initiative, and invited Ms Liji Nowal, Director, ODEX India, to address the audience. She gave a very detailed presentation about the need for eKYC which is a segment of the Blockchain initiative, and how ODEX will work closely with AMTOI members to facilitate and implement the same. This was followed by a brief question and answer session.

Mr Shantanu Bhadkamkar gave the vote of thanks on behalf of the Association, said a release.

At the Managing Committee meeting after the event, the aforementioned members were elected to the Managing Committee of AMTOI for the term 2018-19.

AMTOI Managing Committee for 2018-19

* Mr Shantanu Bhadkamkar – President

* Mr Xerrxes Master – Vice-President

* Mr George Abrao – Honorary Secretary

* Mr Ravindra J. Gandhi – Honorary Treasurer


Create Account

Log In Your Account